Summon Prince Lotor

Oh wow! I just finished watching Season 2 of Voltron Legendary Defender.  And the title of this post are the last words ever mentioned from Season 2.  So I guess that….Season 3: here I come!  If you don’t like spoilers; please stop reading this post NOW!!

Ok, so in this Season 2 we see an increasingly heroic Shiro bonding more deeply with Black Lion.  He had to fight mentally against King Zarkon; who was the first Black Lion paladin and had a sickening obsession of regaining control of the Black Lion during almost the whole 13 episodes.  (Really liked!!)  Shiro’s character developed into a more mature, strong and extraordinaire leader for the Voltron paladins.

Lance was still the comic relief; I found myself laughing out loud in almost all episodes thanks to his charisma and wacky personality.  Keith discovers more about his background: his mother is galran which makes Allura despise him at a certain point but later on she accepts who he is and even gives him a hug for good luck.  IMHO I still don’t see them as a romantic possibility even though they shared a moment talking in a ship when they both believed that Zarkon was tracking them.   It’s like they don’t match; and it feels forced and weird.  If they eventually end up together; it would have to be better worked by the writers.  I think they made Keith galran to give him some advantage so he could eventually be a more believable rival for Lotor (yeah, me!) LOL!  I always thought that Keith being able to fight against a doomite in the old series was just not believable because of the frailty of the human race against an alien race.

Pidge and Hunk’s characters were also developed in this season as they found more secrets in their lions and also discovered more things about themselves.

It was a pleasant surprise to see Allura in action literally kicking ass when she fought Haggar and discovered that the witch was arusian.  In the old series, Witch Haggar was galran because she was Zarkon’s mother.  So I guess that also changed here. That was a really interesting outcome.  The last fight between Shiro and Zarkon proved decisive and I wonder what is next following Shiro’s disappearance, Zarkon’s decomission and ultimately the summoning of mua’h.

I just hope the next season doesn’t become cliché and that we can see  much more storyline developments in each side of the fence.  I hope more secrets get unfold; that the writer’s get out of the “good vs. bad mold” and venture to show more diversity and variety in the story.  I want to see the bad’s good side and the good’s bad side.  That makes a better story, at least for me.

So yeah, I think this season 2 was a good watch and I strongly recommend it.  I can’t wait to see how I’m gonna look for Season 3.  I don’t think I may be a pretty boy anymore (even though that was a very interesting development of the original GoLion) but hopefully I won’t be filled with purple zits all over my body.  But by the looks of this Zarkon, my hopes for a pretty face are not too high, hahaha!!  But hey, Allura isn’t that hot anymore hahaha!

Well….stay evil my friends!  Until next time!!

20 Responses to “Summon Prince Lotor”

  1. I won’t watch that abomination cause I might have a heart attack

  2. That was an awesome ending to the second season, which focused on character development. The planets were also interesting. Eventually this series will line up with the mythology – Keith piloting black lion, Lance piloting Red Lion, and Allura piloting Blue Lion. I wonder if Shiro will have a younger brother like in the original Golionversion. Not surprised that Haggar is Arusuan. I feel like I was watching a Voltron reboot movie. I got my 14-inch Voltron and comics tgraphic novels. Sorry but I can’t get enough of this reboot series.

    • Wow….if Keith ends up piloting Black Lion; then the whole bonding thing would have to start all over again. Shiro had a hard time bonding with Black in this one and Keith’s bonding with Red is very strong too. I’m not sure that they would go through that again. I really do like that Allura is part of the Castle/ship; she’s very useful there with the warp holes and all. But I agree with you that this series is the shit, LOL

      • vantheman77 Says:

        They might have to when a third season begins. Perhaps Shiro’s has disappeared into the Black Lion.

        Allura now has an arch-enemy in Witch Haggar as only she can take her on.

      • I also thought that Shiro might become the Black Lion. It would be easier for Keith to tame him because Shiro knows him and would allow the bonding easier with Black Lion. I’m just guessing…if they’re going that way.

  3. Awesome ending to season 2. Can’t get enough of the reboot series. It’s like watching a Voltron reboot movie. I wonder if Shiro has a younger brother like in the original Japanese version of Voltron. Not surprised that Haggar is Arusian.

    • I was surprised that she was arusian because I thought that they might follow the original series where Haggar was Zarkon’s mother. But nevertheless, it was a good development.

      • vantheman77 Says:

        Keith being half-Galran was interesting. I will bet on Lotor being Arusian like in the original series. Speaking of Lotor, they better not make him a joke like they did on the Voltron Force series!

      • Yeah, I thought about how Lotor was half arusian in the original series which explained his physical appearance. But it’s weird that Keith is so human; probably he might change physically…? And yes, I totally agree with you about them not making a joke out of me again….LOL

  4. ReggarKarp Says:

    I told he’d appear.

  5. I bought the black lion from the 16 inch voltron set but I can’t find any of the others. I like transforming robot toys. I can’t believe anyone other then old school voltron fans are buying these things.

  6. Amazing! Its actually awesome paragraph, I have got much clear idea regarding
    from this post.

  7. Luna de Papel Says:

    ¡Hola Lotor! My daughter just sat me down to watch season two because I never kept up with it after the first season, and of course you came to mind. She was 5 when we first met (remember Thundercats 2011?) and now she’s like eleven and I’m an old lady who drives too fast but I can still enjoy this new series a bit too much 🙂

    If they kill Shiro, I’m going to be very upset, though. I may be back next week as we watch some more. ¡Saludos, amigo!

Leave a comment